Today news plays a crucial role in people's lives and new more significantly influences on people than before. Why is this case? It is a positive or negative development?

The news today has a far greater influence on people’s lives and behavior than ever before. This is mainly because of advancements in digital technology and spreading news methods. In my opinion, this development has more negative consequences than positive ones.

Admittedly, technological breakthroughs have made it possible for news spread all over the world within seconds. First of all, social media and smartphones provide any sort of information, allowing people to access to news at any time and anywhere. In the past, however, television news programs were broadcast at scheduled time and newspapers were only published once a week or a month, which means people got news less frequently. Another reason is that 24-hour news channel continuously update people with the latest news. These tv programs and channels are competing each other to attract more audience. To do so, without filtering or checking, they are ending up with giving even fake or false information.

Although being aware of current events is useful to some extent, I believe information overload and becoming stressed are the negative influences of getting instant news. This is mainly because most news outlets usually focus on providing breaking news that is related to crime or wars between countries to appeal more viewers. Constant exposure to such stories can increase anxiety and fear among members of public. Furthermore, people may be unable to make proper decisions when they are under influence of so much unnecessary news. As by thinking I have to take everything into account, they could choose the worst option and leave the most appropriate choice.

In conclusion, digital devices have changed communication habits and the way people get news. Though this development creates an easy way of becoming aware of what is happening around the world, in my view information overload leads people to feel confused and concerned, due to getting mostly violent news.