Today, some food travels travel thousands of miles from farms to consumers, Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat local food. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the advantages?

It is often argue that exporting foodstuff from different parts of the world to buyers can be harmful both to the environment and economy. It is people who support the idea of consuming only locally produced food. I consider that the detrimental impacts of this tendency significantly reduces the health of overall population, and benefits does not outweigh its drawbacks.

it is axiomatically true that farming areas have experience significant changes over the past decades. Many lands are infertile and have an erosed soil which adversely impacts on the whole society by not being able to cultivate crops and creating new jobs. Although the governments have implemented strict regulations, environmental problems persist. Hence, many countries heavily rely on export which is beneficial and worthwhile in preventing famine. Long-term contracts with multiple countries can be established to ensure a steady supply of food. Sudan serves as a notable example where a large proportion of foods are important due to the infertility of land.

Furthermore, it has been observed that individuals desire to consume different variations of food which is essential in promoting health conscious lifestyle. Halting food exports would have caused several difficulties to officials, many of them will try to increase harvest yields and promote biodiversity, which is extremely costly for the budget. This due to the climate change which makes crop yields unpredictable and can lead to starvation of people.

In conclusion, addressing famine is a crucial problem for the government, hence countries with infertile or erosed land should not halting foodstuff exports and vice versa promote it to citizens. Moreover, it has been calculated that it is a much cheaper option and useful.