Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a popular belief circulating in the community nowadays, claiming that the high sales of renowned consumer goods reflect the power of advertising, but not actually caring about the real needs of the society in which they are sold. I stand by first argument, and I reckon that huge greedy companies are responsible for this tendency.

Huge companies are responsible for selling unnecessary products as they always put advertisement first in order to make money. They showcase the bright side of their product, claiming that it’s going to benefit society, making the products seemingly look like a very beneficial asset, but it is doesn’t benefit society at all. For example, selling burgers and other junks foods for 10 or 11$. That is not only not benefiting society, but it also harms them.

One could claim that there are some commercials that also advertises the products, specialized for the demands of the society. It might be somewhat true, but they miss the fact that they also sell unuseful products in addition to the useful. Advertising videos and photos are so well-featured that numerous people report buying a product that they weren’t intending to buy in the first place, therefore, advertisement industry is becoming more about grabbing attention of customers, instead of actually producing the products that are essential to society.

To conclude, I believe that high-sale commodities are just reflection of the power of advertising, since advertisiment has become the number one priority for companies, ignoring the real needs of society, in order to make money.