Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people have a perspective that advertisement lure the consumer to buy the product which is basically not a necessity in his or her life. While others are of the view that advertising enlightens us to new items which might ameliorate our lives. I strongly agree that ads motivates the consumer to buy unwanted items.

To begin with, there are compelling reasons why ads encourage people to purchase unneeded items. first of all, multinational corporations create meticulously crafted ads to entice consumer to purchase their products. For instance, fast food chain McDonald’s advertising artifacts tries to lure children with toys and playrooms in order to sell kids meal. Moreover, vigorous advertisement campaigns are promoted across plethora of channels such as tv, billboards and online, Only to gauze attention of the society which leads them to purchase goods that may be of no need to them. Consequently, people tend to become more materialistic as advertising aggravates their desire to own more items.

However, there are some merits to ads. The primary advantage to the consumer is the awareness of the new products. There are certain circumstances where informative advertisement can assist one’s life. For example, campaigns of medicinal serum to promote scalp health and growth of new hair which greatly benefits people with hair loss.

To conclude, I firmly believe that advertising lures us to buy unwanted items through meticulously crafted ads across various mediums. On bright side, it can be factual and influence the pricing of goods in the market.