Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is widely acknowledged that in numerous nations around the world in this modern era, most television companies mainly telecast male sports rather than female sports. In this essay, I will scrutinize the reasons responsible for this trend, and I vehemently believe that TV channels should maintain a balance about their broadcast rules and offer some pertinent examples to illustrate the current state of affairs.

To begin with, there are meaningful causes directly responsible for this issue. One primary reason is that in this contemporary society, a number of men watch sports for entertainment purposes and find a way to reduce their stress. For this reason, every TV channel likes to broadcast several men’s sports such as football, cricket, hockey, and so on, which are the most popular games on the planet. which helps the broadcast organization earn money by gaining TRP. According to a recent survey conducted by the BJC, nowadays, in the sports channel, approximately 70% of annual revenue comes from men’s sports; however, only 30% of yearly earnings come from women’s sports. Thus, the indication of broadcasting men’s sports trends.

In my assumption, there are a plethora of opinions prevailing in society about the television broadcasting trend. Firstly, some people believe that it should depend on the situation if any sports events are trending now and that the TV channel should broadcast them without any gender discrimination, which helps to create an equal balance in society. Additionally, a few individuals think that every big broadcasting company should open a particular channel to which they dedicate only telecast women’s sports. This solution provides an opportunity for people to watch both sports at the same time. According to the well-known web portal The Daily Star, at present, women sports broadcast TRP saw a decrease of approximately 9% in their annual earnings due to a lack of telecasting platforms. For this reason, I vehemently believe that TV channels should strike a balance between their showtime and their popularity.

In conclusion, it is undeniably true that sports play a crucial role in reducing people’s work stress and providing an opportunity to make them happy. However, in recent years, some women’s sports have lost their importance due to a lack of broadcasting platforms and Showtime, which should raise awareness and increase the popularity of women’s and men’s sports.