Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, it is common to see that sport programs that involve male are more likely to be broadcasted than their female counterparts. This is because males participate in sport activities that are popular among the mass, and I believe representations in media should be based on popularity of the programs, not on gender basis.

Programes produced by many mass media today are seen by many to feature more male sports. This is because the sporting activities preferred by their consumer base are usually those that are physically demanding, and, compared to females, males are more likely to engage in them. This created a sense of under representation of female sports shows on TV. For instance, chess, which does not require much physical fitness, is equally enjoyed by both genders, while it is rarely featured in TV programs. In contrast, rugby, which clearly requires a decent physical fitness, is widely broadcasted because it is enjoyed by many, and it is clear that females do not participate in such activities as males do.

Many people also argue that, those media need to include female sports shows as equally as those of males. I do not think this should be the case, because many of these broadcasting companies operate with the revenue they generate from their consumers and advertisements. Consequently, adding programs that their consumers would not enjoy merely to satisfy gender gaps would hurt their business.

In conclusion, male sports programs are more common on TVs, because sports that require demanding physical activities are more likely to be enjoyed by males, and the public usually enjoys these sports. And I believe media companies should only broadcast shows that their consumers enjoy.