Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It can be seen that men’s sports shows are given more priority than those of women for several reasons. However, I deduce it is essential that men’s and women’s sports channels be given on the same terms as each other.

There are several reasons why people make a difference between men and women in sports programs. There is no doubt that viewers of men’s sports are much more than women’s. Football is one of the iconic examples owing to the fact Women’s World Cup does not put its name on the map while the Men’s World Cup is a phenomenon and a champion is a legend. Another reason is that the sports industry can take advantage of men’s athletics for commercials or advertisements, which are more popular than women. For instance, a bottle of tea that Messi drank while on the pitch can go viral on social media all over the world. Since then, Yerba Mate tea increasingly become omnipresent, especially for football players.

TV watchers of men’s sports account for a higher percentage of those women, however; TV channels should give equal schedules for both of them. This can take strong action to break down gender barriers in sports in the sense that sports do not differentiate between men and women. What is more, equalizing time for men’s and women’s sports shows assists in boosting women’s athletics income, which is an incentive for them to keep on sports careers. There is a wide array of women does not have a chance to reach their pinnacle, albeit their gifted talent. Apart from that, only a few women succeed in sports such as Serena Williams in tennis.

In conclusion, men’s and women’s sports programs do not show equal coverage on TV for several reasons although I think it should do so.