Today's children are living under more pressure from the society than children in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the contemporary world, it is claimed that children in the past lived under less pressure from society than modern children. I absolutely agree with this statement because today’s children encounter information overload and unrealistic expectations of success.

The primary reason why today’s younger generation is living under more pressure is that they face an overload of information. While in the past, there was limited access to data and the internet, and children’s surroundings were confined to their neighborhood and school, nowadays, young people constantly receive numerous blocks of information with immediate access to browsers. As a result, modern children’s brains are continuously focused on different aspects of life, including education, well-being, entertainment, and culture, which increases stress levels and impedes psychological relaxation. Thus, the era of technological advancement raised pressure that society is putting down on young citizens.

Another reason why now there is more pressure on children from the community is that young people are supposed to meet unfeasible expectations of success. Modern society requires early professional orientation and achievements, with millions of victorious people’s stories spreading rapidly on social media, whereas maturing was natural and gradual in the past, when it was not a necessity to prepare for a college from a middle school. For example, the acceptance rate for various universities and large companies has decreased significantly, forcing the young generation to get ready for these steps considerably earlier than it was common in the past. Moreover, this hyper-competitive environment creates an unforgiving atmosphere, where an average performance is perceived as a failure, making children physically and mentally exhausting.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that modern children have to live under significantly more pressure than children in the past did. This is because of the constant overload of digital information and societal demand for early and exceptional achievements.