Today's schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Students learn a range of subjects such as mathematics, science and languages to develop their intellectual ability from young age. Therefore, it is commonly accepted that schools should stress on those subjects under the limited time and resources. On graduation of high school, however, students will face tremendous life challenges such as managing their own financial issues. It is time to address whether education on financial management is necessary or not.

It is true that students basically have to focus on studying fundamental subjects because those subjects can be basis for further knowledge. Without understanding mathematical principal, children cannot go on to the higher level of analytic mental activities. Also, some people might argue that students should concentrate on given curriculum to become a decent student. This thesis is in line with the idea that life experiences are out of curriculum because students are under protection of their parents.

However, we shouldn’t underestimate the impact of real world that is coming to our life at a high speed. There are a lot of undergraduate students who are struggling with financial issue all over the world. They should have been taught how to manage their limited money in advance. Without knowledge and skills on this, survival financially can be a huge burden on youngsters who just started their independent life. In spite of strong motivation to further education, undergraduate students can be easily lost in the middle of their education course not knowing what to do to pay off their tuition fee. Normally students realise that they are in huge amount of debt when they got their first job, and so the problem might continue.

In conclusion, I personally believe that proper lessons on financial management should be included in school curriculum. While fundamental subjects are important, practical knowledge for handling life challenges such as financial issue is equally important.