Today's schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is commonly believed that students learn to analyze literature, calculate using trigonometry, and understand how photosynthesis works. However, students are inexperienced and helpless after graduation when encountering the real work. It is therefore argued that schools should teach their students how to survive financially in today’s competitive world.

This topic is mainly debated among policymakers and educators to help in creating well-informed and open-minded individuals. Many educators believe that schools ae supposed to teach students in subjects in which they will most probably not encounter post-graduation. At the same time, it can be argued that schools should teach their students how to handle their finances in everyday life. In some countries, school officials include a syllabus on financial activities that are applicable to daily life. Moreover, mathematics, for example, are useful not only to communicate mathematical skills but also to teach logic to students. Currently, most schools cannot fulfill this goal to the fullest, as often students cannot handle their financial matters sensibly, and therefore this leads to personal financial crisis and bankruptcy in adult life. Students that are taught how to handle their finances wisely could change this.

It is unlikely to make a significant shift in the ideology of education as the traditional education system is firmly rooted for too long to be easily changed. In addition, the scale of this change would cost a fortune since teachers would have to be trained, and a syllabus for this potential subject would have to be created.

In conclusion, I believe it is a positive step towards creating a better world where children are well-prepared for their adult life in terms of financial matters. Although adding new content to the syllabus would require a significant amount of money and effort, this would benefit a whole society from students being prepared for their adulthoods.