Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

In almost all of the schools and institutions around the globe, students study English along with other languages as well. It is not a question that English is one of the most spoken languages in the world, and it is very beneficial to know this language. However, as a polyglot, in this essay, I will bring examples from my experience to show why knowing other local languages is also advantageous, and they need to be preserved.

First, let us understand why knowing English is very important. Undoubtedly, countries like the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and Canada, which are some of the biggest political superpowers of the world, all speak English. In addition to that, there are lots of Europeans who speak English at an almost fluent level as well. And even in other parts of the world, in Asia, for example, some portion of the people there are almost as good as native speakers.

But, it does not mean that local languages should die out or at least be in danger of extinction. As a person who knows 5 languages, one of them is a local language called Lezgi. Not a big portion of people can speak this language, and some even claim this language is outdated and is not beneficial to know. But I would argue that knowing more languages, regardless of wethey they are local or global, is very helpful in life. It enables you to communicate with the local people in their languages, which is sometimes very exciting.

In conclusion, knowing English is important to know because of its publicity and the opportunities that come with it in everyday and corporate life. However, knowing indigenous languages can bring their benefits in life, therefore, in my opinion, erasing them completely from the list of languages is wrong.