Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

As many people believe English is extremely vital, it is often perceived that schools should no longer teach local languages. In my opinion, English can open up more opportunities, but local languages are part of our identity that should be preserved through innovative approaches in education.

As a global language, English is widely used to communicate and exchange knowledge with people from different countries. In this era, we can access information for free in digital platforms, yet much of them is available in English. By mastering this language, we can comprehend more information which will help us to make more informed decisions in our lives. Additionally, many international scholarships and employments also require English proficiency. Therefore, being fluent in English enhances our competitiveness in the recruitment processes.

However, although English is essential, local languages cannot be put aside. As part of this diverse world, local languages play important roles in assisting us in getting to know each other. While some people might say that this can potentially lead to discrimination, preserving our own language is a way to respect our ancestors; learn about local knowledge, traditions, and values; as well as learning from one another. By doing so, we will never lose the identity built by the elders in our community.

To guarantee that our local languages are well protected, the next generations should be taught intensively at schools. Developing digital copy of dictionary, exploring local stories, as well as creating animations and drama shows using our languages are some innovative ways to teach these., This is to ensure that the lessons are equally fun as the videos and games they typically access on their gadgets.

Finally, I believe that while English is crucial, local languages should still be innovatively taught at schools so that the next generations can understand their own identity in this globalised era.