Too much empasis placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examination is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, tests and exams have become the centre of attention among teachers and students. I firmly believe that this matter has serious negative impacts on both educators and learners.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that exams play an important role in testing one’s knowledge on a certain topic. For instance, university enterance exams are extremely crucial for choosing students, as the number of students they can accept are limited. On the other hand, I am convinced that the drawbacks of this matter should not be avoided. One of the major disadvantages of constantly taking exams for teachers is that when it is their exam season they tend to have a lot on their plate. In other words, they have to pay attention to their students and study for their own exams at the same time. For example, my history teacher has an upcoming exam; however, he cannot seem to make time and study because of his courses and school.

Furthermore, examinations not only stress teachers, but also affect students’ mental health negatively. In most cases, students become depressed because of the test they have to take. In addition, in some countries, such as Korea or China, students might even commit suicide.

In conclusion, as a student myself, I am convinced that the amount of pressure exams have on our teachers and us is extremely detrimental for our mental well-being, as some might become depressive or even take their own lives; therefore, I consider that it would be better if the number of tests were limited.