Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is obvious that tourism has became one of largest industries in the world, with millions of tourists traveling all over the world and billions of dollars invested to this industry. However, while bringing undeniable benefits, tourism is also the main cause of an enormous problem to local cultures and the environment. In my view, all of the benefits from the tourism can outperform the negative effects from its activities.

Firstly, the most significant positive impact of tourism is on the economy of the region. Take Quang Ninh, where Ha Long Bay is recognized as one of the world wonders as an example, the local economy has been boosting since the local authorities investment heavily on tourism. Many of restaurants and hotels have been constructed to serve for the industry, which not only creates new jobs in this field, but also makes the city life much more lively.

Most travelers who have an interest and admiration to the places there are going to visit will have certain respect to those areas. In other words, when people visit somewhere, they always act their most polite and conscious ways, so the impact that they make on the environment would not be harmful. For instance, I once had a trip to Ha Long Bay, in which I attended a snorkeling tour to see coral reefs. I intentionally did not walk on the coral to conserve the sea environment of the site.

However, despite all of the huge revenue that tourism makes to the economy, this industry still has severe problems that needed to be solved. The bigger this industry becomes, the more pressure it puts on the environment. Tons of trash strained in seas and tourist attractions every year threaten not only the creatures of these places, but also affect the local residents’ life. Moreover, over-exploiting on the industry can also lead to the synchronization of cultures and the destruction of historical sites.

In conclusion, it is my personal belief that under careful management, tourism can be developed and in turn it brings enormous benefits to the business and wealth to the area while keeping the negative impacts to minimal level.