Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the tourist industry has been developing considerably, and this can help countries with economical development. By contrast, tourism can bring out some cultural and environmental issues which are ignored. I agree with this partly.

It is obvious that tourism can lead a country to grow in terms of economy and culture. In other words, the rate of unemployment can decrease in local areas. For instance, many hotels are constructed which need a workforce to service visitors. In addition, local vendors have an opportunity to sell their traditional products more as tourists are interested in buying souvenirs. In fact, local citizens have a chance to introduce their cultural background and traditions to other countries by selling their local items and decorating their show windows in a traditional way.

On the other hand, tourism can cause some environmental problems. There are some visitors who do not care about the importance of attraction destinations. For example, there are some historical monuments which are restricted to entry,and visitors have to visit them at a distance. Some tourists break the rules and it is likely that these old ruins destroyed gradually. Moreover, there are some national parks which have some facilities for tourists to stay there like tents and aquatic equipment. There are some tourists who litter and they damage trees to make a fire. I believe that the importance of these damages may be overlooked by the authorities thanks to the financial profit which is earned through the tourist industry.

To sum up, it seems to me that many countries make a large amount of money through tourism. Therefore, many governments ignore the drawbacks of this industry like environmental damage.