Traditional lifestyles are slowly being forgotten. Do you think this is a bad thing? What can be done about it?

People are forgetting old ways of doing things gradually. In my view, this a negative development and special education programs and regulations must be pushed forward by the government to preserve them.

To begin with, forgetting customary ways of doing things is a negative development due to personal and communal impact on society. To explicate, people who are not bound to local culture can easily be radicalised against their own community. For example, citizens who are not aware of their cultural bonds can easily tread on them when they express their opinions or act in a certain way. Another reason forgetting old customs is a bad influence at the community level is because of the economic disparity it will bring. In other words, when there is no cultural development or preservation, it leads to loss of livelihood. For example, when artists’ products, ethic events, and food are not being promoted, they will eventually die.

The solution for preserving old cultural ways is special education programs. To put it simply, the government need to provide special education programs to the public and in schools for showing importance and benefits of local culture to society. Moreover, the government can organise local events to preserve cultural ways, which can have benefits across multiple generations. Furthermore, the government can formulate policies that will help them promote culture globally. For example, making some sectors protected for local culture to grow in.

In conclusion, forgetting of customary ways is disadvantageous because of negative effect on community in term of personal morale and communal economy, which can be improved with specific policies.