Universities should prioritise teaching practical skills over theoretical knowledge. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that many universities education should have the priority for realistic skills more than theory-based learning. In my perspective I firmly agree with this statement that are obviously present in this essay.

On the one hand, practical skills are vital in the daily life. Not only at educational environment but it also necessarily when graduated students would have a well-paid job, that required more and more real-world skills consist of communication or problem-solving skills. Nowadays, the number of companies or business groups also recruit skilled human resources, which means students need gain more practical abilities. By approach to perform task at work using skills that can address realistic issues, this could improve their performance and potentially be a huge advantage on their CVs. Therefore, having the ability for master practical skills of students play a crucial role in the job market as it is compulsory in any position of work’s demands.

On the other hand, theoretical knowledge acquired more than realistic skills in university also because of it is a fundamental of any work. For instance, scientist cannot make a research without the knowledge about their sections or doctor could misdiagnosis patient as lack of theory-based skill. Moreover, many students claim that universities should focus on more theory that help they acquire advanced specialty which is suitable for their workplace in the upcoming. This somewhat differs from the manual work environment where relistic skills are at the core of the job for students .

In conclusion, despite theory acquired from higher education is vital for students to have a job in knowledge-intensive workplace but I also believe that universities should strike a balance between the two, ensuring that students not only understand fundamental principles but can also apply them effectively in real-life situations.