Using cell phones while driving is dangerous bc it causes the driver to become distracted. Therefore cellphone use by drivers should be illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are opinions that because cell phone usage during driving is dangerous, driver’s cell usage should be made illegal. I believe that there are other less restrictive ways to go about fixing this issue.

Laws by themselves are difficult to construct, especially if one looks to illegalize a notion as broad as banning phones for drivers. For instance, how should a government go about reasonably establishing which cell phone use could be allowed; especially for commercial services (taxis, etc) and essential workers (emergency responders). To personal users, even, the banning of cell phones is an inconvenience at best and burdening at worst, particularly more so in the booming age of communication. If one aims to disenfranchise such a wide necessity of daily life, it must be of more fallacy than interest, and yet, banning cell phones completely for drivers will fail that requirement.

On the other side of this debate, one can argue that eradication is the most straightforward way to solve an issue. The rotting limb is cut off, as is in any medical condition, and it is perceptibly applicable to real life’s societal issues. However, a problem with this proposal has been addressed above: how do you go about cutting off a limb still functional? A successful law must be flexible, serving the interest of many rather than a restrictive stopgap which fails to take into consideration the various aspects regarding said situation.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the proposal to ban cell phone uses for drivers on grounds of what I consider not probable.