Watching a live performance such as a play, concert, or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s globalized world, more and more people believe that experiencing a live performance is far more enjoyable than watching the same event on television, while others do not. They still argue that watching live venues on television is much more convenient and beneficial. To be honest, both concerns are valid.

On the one hand, live performances undeniably create a stronger sense of immersion, shared energy, and emotional connection, which cannot be fully replicated through a television screen. To be more specific, watching concerts directly can evoke deep and genuine feelings while audiences will be able to support their idols more enthusiastically. For instance, people will gain special benefits if they are willing to support their idols in person, such as having a small chat with them or receiving free merchandise and CDs at the concerts. Therefore, watching events in real life provides endless hours of fun and enjoyment and offers an enticing escape from daily stressors. Furthermore, live concerts can be regarded as the best time to expand people’s social network. Apparently, they will be likely to meet new friends, who share a common interest with them more easily. As a result, people can form long-lasting relationships with their new friends in the long run.

On the other hand, television provides convenience, better visual angles, replays, and comfort, allowing viewers to enjoy events without the high cost or crowd-related discomfort of live venues. Obviously, people can let off some steam by following these music performances at home in lieu of spending a large amount of money on these events. Hence, they will be able to save time and money for other significant activities in today’s competitive world. In reality, sometimes, individuals feel compelled to go to live concerts as they want to show off their financial status and avoid being fomo. In this case, digital platforms can be a powerful tool for them. Secondly, watching live performances on television can be good for family gatherings. Instead of seeking limited tickets for live concerts, they can rely on television to create more cherished memories with their loved ones by discussing these events, thereby fostering a sense of togetherness and close-knit relationship. Another reason why watching an event on television can be more enjoyable is that modern broadcasting technology provides clearer visuals and richer details than most people can experience in a live performance. High-definition cameras, multiple angles, and instant replays help viewers appreciate subtle expressions, movements, or moments that are easily overlooked in crowded or distant seats at a live event. Thus, they can reminisce about these live performances from time to time.

In conclusion, while watching live concerts is more enjoyable, televised performances offer accessibility and practicality. In fact, there is no one-size-fits-all approach to each person. As long as they take their own issues into consideration before making their autonomous decisions, such as time constraints and time management, they will have the best experience with their loved ones.