We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, some people argue that it is unachievable to save all the people who need help; therefore, we need only pay attention to those who are familiar. In my opinion, I partly agree to this argument for the reason that individual powers have limits.

Firstly, as I mention in the introduction, each person’s available time is limited, which means that what every person can do is also restricted. It may possibly be the case that we support people who are nearby. At the same time, excessive focus on other people may sometimes have drawbacks, such as spending little time to improve ourselves or having shorter relaxation. In contrast, trying to help people worldwide can provide us with the views of sympathy, kindness and consideration. These will be the crucial characteristics we need to acquire through our growing process.

From my perspective, the mindset of saving people around the world is a double edged-sword. We can cultivate our sense of kindness and sympathy, while this way of thinking can require a great deal of time and energy, which can have negative effects on our personal lives. So, I want to suggest that people should help others when they are able to do so, but they should complete their personal satisfaction.

To conclude, helping all the people in the world is a meaningful way to develop our sense of kindness and sympathy. On the other hand, it can also be a burden in individual time and mental health. From these reasons above, I partly agree that we should rather pay attention to people nearby than helping all the people in need in the world.