We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that helping and supporting every human on the planet is a task that can never be achieved and there for people should exclusively focus on their own communities and nations. Personally, I completely disagree with this claim, primarily because in today’s modern world, technology has made it easier than ever to reach other people who are much further away. In addition, I think helping a smaller, more manageable number of people around the world would be a solid start rather than thinking of supporting everyone out there at once.

Firstly, I believe that through the technological advancements that we have made, we can easily and securely reach people around the world and support them with all kinds of help such as food, heaters, clothes and more. In fact, boats and plane ticket are mostly quite affordable nowadays, supplies are also in reach, for example, clothes and tents can be acquired at extremely low prices at thrift stores. In the case where one can’t travel, they can still provide help through their phone for example by supporting and boosting a social trend they believe in or marching in favor of good causes or even abstaining from using products made by companies that contribute in the misery of other peoples. This has been proven to work, for example, McDonald, the fast-food company has seen huge economical losses amid the boycott many activists performed in favor of the Palestinian cause.

Furthermore, the right plan, in my opinion isn’t to assist everyone on earth from the get-go, that’s quite unrealistic, but rather to start with smaller communities. Helping a more realistic number will help improve the chances of a successful mission which consequently will boost the mental of the activists and motivate them to do more similar actions. This in turn will improve individuals’ quality of life and with time will inspire them to assist others around them. This could help create a large network of people around the world who would be ready and motivated to help assist unfortunate individuals. For instance, this is exactly what the World Health Organization successfully achieved, by having multiple small scaled groups and communities located in all corners of the planet, especially remote or war-torn ones.

In conclusion, for the reasons outlined above, namely, taking advantage of the technology around us and starting with smaller more manageable groups, I remain of the opinion that we can indeed help people around us and that for a better world.