We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement
Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries as long as there are
problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe that we should try to
help as many people as possible.
On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In
most communities there are people who are impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. It is
possible to find homeless people, for example, in even the wealthiest of cities, and for those
who are concerned about this problem, there are usually opportunities to volunteer time or
give money to support these people. In the UK, people can help in a variety of ways, from
donating clothing to serving free food in a soup kitchen. As the problems are on our doorstep,
and there are obvious ways to help, I can understand why some people feel that we should
prioritise local charity.
At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who live beyond our
national borders. In some countries the problems that people face are much more serious than
those in our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children
are dying from curable diseases in African countries, governments and individuals in richer
countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. A small donation to
an international charity might have a much greater impact than helping in our local area.
In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my opinion national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.