We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

One school of thought holds that we only need to focus on aiding our own society instead of other countries. While I acknowledge the reason behind this thinking, I would argue that it would be imprudent to downplay helping other people outside of your society.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people believe that it is unpractical to try to help people all over the world, while as, people should help their neighbors. Regarding the former, helping people who live faraway would consume lots of effort and money in certain perspectives. This can be seen in areas that are outside of the country, where charity organizers need to arrange transportation and manpower to deliver subsidies to local people. As for supporting people in the same community, it is most likely that many impoverished and disadvantaged can be easily found in societies, so helping these people would be probably effortless in several ways. Furthermore, this would improve the image of society as well as improve the quality of life in local communities.

Despite the aforementioned rationales, people all over the world are still encouraged to help each other beyond geographical barriers. To specify this, in some countries, the problems are beyond their capabilities, so it would be necessary for other countries to give them a hand in terms of technology, monetary, and skilled workers to name a few. For instance, Vietnam in the past received lots of supports from Japan on building complexed infrastructures such as My Thuan bridge, A1 express highway, among others. Without aids from overseas, Vietnam was supposed to be under-developed nation. For certain countries, they still need different subsidies from outside.

In conclusion, it is noteworthy that we are not able to aid everyone around the world, but sharing and helping should not be limited within geographic borders.