Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. Why is this ? Is this is positive or negative?

Marriages are becoming larger and more expensive. While the cause is social media pressure, I believe this is a negative development since it creates financial pressure.

There are several causes of mounting size and price of weddings. One of them is that influence of social media. In other words, today there are a lot of social media applications and people comparing themselves with others all the time. All people posting fragments of their life, and other people see it and compete with others. They all try to be the wealthiest and boast with it. So, the same thing happens with matrimonies, people conduct marriages and publish it on their page to show others how they made their marital ceremony. As a result, people compete with each other to conduct the best and richest wedding. For example, when in my town the social media was not popular the marriages were simple and excellent. However, when social media became known and frequently used by local people, the weddings become like a competition. Individuals started compete with other local residents in undertaking marriages more and more expensive.

Even though social media effect on people is a cause, I believe this is a negative development for a single reason. Emergence of financial issues. To explain, when people strive to outperform than others, there appears an excitement in individuals. And this passion blurs their eyes, in other words, they forget about their monetary condition and what does it costs. So, to be the number one in their social competition they will not want to lose and overspend on their weddings. Thus, they went over budget and will not have enough funds for their further actions like purchasing a house or furniture. For instance, my friend’s brother overspend budget for the marriage and eventually struggled due to lack of enough money and got into debt.

In conclusion, the cause is social media’s influence on individuals. However, I believe this is a negative trend as it creates problems with budget.