wether punishment would be essential or unneeded for the children social learning process

In today’s world there is an ongoing debate wether punishment would be essential or unneeded for the children social learning process. Some people believe that parents and tutors would teach good manners by punishing their pupils and kids, whereas, I strongly believe that are some lightly methods overweigh those traditional ones. In this essay I will discuss this subject and present my own opinion on the matter.

This topic brought me in mind some experiences from my childhood where some teachers taught me and my classmates how to have good manners and high scores by following their commands. Those tutors denied any extra-curricular activities, such as going to zoo or even cinema, for all students, if one of us did not have properly manner in the classroom or had low scores. By doing so, teachers enforced us to pay attention on subjects and support each other which lead us to some skills development; such as, teamwork.

Conversely is the case of learning process at home, my parents used to punish me severely when I did not obey their orders. In some case, I could not play in the backyard with my neighbors nor ride my bicycle on the weekends; additionally, I must helped them to clean up our home, go to a church and go grocery to carry heavy bags. Normally, on Sundays, they used to teach me how to behave better on my daily routine by highlighting my attitudes from previous week.

From my opinion; as a punishment, parents and teachers should not deprive kids of doing activities that they love to without considerate their own personality. Furthermore, each child may reacts differently according to specific scenarios and it does not mean that they are bad or good individuals. Have saying so, some problems can intensify by some students who are banned of doing some activities punishing their classmates who do not perform well. In this situation, it would be better if tutors work separately those students who need more care.

In conclusion, punishment does not guarantee that individuals will learn how to behave in society. In addition, educators and parents should try different approaches by analyzing the individual’s reaction when punished, which would avoid the development of traumas or endorse misbehavior in adulthood.