What are the advantages and disadvantages for a country to host international sports events such as the World Cup or the Olympics?

Hosting prime international sporting events makes lots of benefits according to some people, in contrast, others think it brings more disadvantages. From my perspective, both sides have their own thoughts.

For the positive looks, being the principal in a sporting event is able to promote your country’s international position. Your country could be small, but since it hosted a renowned event, more and more people were going to know about your nation. For instance, the country named Qatar used to be a little bit discreet even though it is wealthy. Qatar has become more well-known since it was a host in the World Cup by showing off their richness to other countries. Well, 2022 World Cup became the most expensive sporting event ever, approximately 100 million dollars. Once a nation gets more attention from others, it attracts more tourists, leading to a development in economy and society as well.

On the other hand, hosting an international sporting event resulted in disadvantages as some people say. The first issue that comes to mind is the massive financial burdens. Qatar didn’t face this because they are rich, but how about small and poor countries? If they want to be equal like some other nations, spending huge amounts of money is compulsory, which causes hard times of their residents or the lack of food and medicines. Some people even afraid of being chosen by FIFA World Cup or something likes that because they have experienced a poor live. For example, Greece had the right to be the host in the 2004 Olympic event. It didn’t go really well due to the huge finance to organize the event, and at that time, this European country got a deep debt which gave rise to negative effects on people lives such as increasing in unemployment or cutting down on social expense.

To conclude, when your nation has an opportunity to host a sporting event, it is good to take it and attempt to demonstrate the ability, as well as becoming more famous after that. However, remember to never do anything without minding the consequences, if not, it would find it very regret. I believe that those who really know what they are doing are successful people.