What are the advantages and disadvantages for a country to host international sports events such as the World Cup or the Olympics?

Hosting prime international sporting events brings lots of benefits according to some people; in contrast, others think it brings more disadvantages. From my perspective, both sides have their own thoughts.

From the positive side, being the host of a sporting event is able to promote your country’s international position. Your country could be small, but since it hosted a renowned event, more and more people are going to know about your nation. For instance, the country named Qatar used to be a little bit discreet, even though it is wealthy. Qatar has become more well-known since it was the host of the World Cup by showing off its richness to other countries. Well, the 2022 World Cup became the most expensive sporting event ever, at approximately 100 billion dollars. Once a nation gets more attention from others, it attracts more tourists, leading to development in the economy and society as well.

On the other hand, hosting an international sporting event results in disadvantages, as some people say. The first issue that comes to mind is the massive financial burden. Qatar didn’t face this because they are rich, but how about small and poor countries? If they want to be equal to some other nations, spending huge amounts of money is compulsory, which causes hard times for their residents or a lack of food and medicines. Some people are even afraid of being chosen to host the FIFA World Cup or something like that because they have experienced a poor life. For example, Greece had the right to be the host of the 2004 Olympic event. It didn’t go really well due to the huge finances required to organize the event, and at that time, this European country got into deep debt which gave rise to negative effects on people’s lives, such as an increase in unemployment or a cutback on social expenses.

To conclude, when your nation or you have an opportunity to host a sporting event, it is good to take it and attempt to demonstrate the ability, as well as turn into more famous after that. However, never do anything without bearing in mind the consequences, if not, you will find it very regrettable. I believe that those who really know what they are doing are successful people.