what are the advantages and disadvantages of working at home

In recent years online studying has become very popular all around the world. This essay will suggest that convenience is the biggest advantage of this way of studying and a lack of face-to-face communication is the primary disadvantage.

It is a well-known fact that people desire to organise the way they live in the most convenient way. Online studying allows them to not spend the time commuting to an educational organisation and to select a comfortable place and time to be at the peak of productivity and motivation. For example, the results of a questionnaire conducted by the online university “SkillBox” in 2024 show that university students studying online are much more satisfied with their results and feel much more productive than those who study offline.

Despite this advantage, online studying can negatively affect a number of interpersonal communications between individuals. Absence of requirement to visit special places to study leads to the situations where people don’t need to lead any real-life conversations, meaning they do not develop their communication skills that are very important nowadays. According to research by the Russian Agency of Statistics, in 5 recent years the level of teenager’s face-to-face communication abilities have reached the lowest point ever due to the implementation of various online education practices.

In conclusion, studying online can let people to organise their lives in more convenient way, however it can negatively influence the amount of real-life communication.