What are the main environmental problems facing the world today, and what solutions can governments and individuals take to address these issues?

The environmental issues have grown increasingly. In particular, since the beginning of the industrial era, the average temperature of the world has been going up. This essay will discuss the reasons of the climate change and offer several solutions.

The main problem is carbon footprint. Due to human activities, such as using massive fossil fuels and deforestation the carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere increase. By contrast, the oxygen level decrease considerably. This pattern causes greenhouse effect, melting of glaciers, and global warming. Another notable problem is plastic waste. Although it is difficult to recycle in nature, million tons of plastic products are produced in a single year. They stuck in necks of birds and stomach of sea creatures. It is clear that, plastic waste is not only damage the ecosystem of the oceans, it also has harmful effects on humans lives. Microplastics can create cancer cells by spreading in vessels.

To solve these problems, firstly, people should use more sustainable energy rather than fossil fuels. Big companies should invest the new sustainable projects as much as possible. Individually, each person can plant a tree in a year instead cutting them. This means nine billion more tree and higher oxygen level in the atmosphere each year. In addition, governments may enhance the process of collecting and recycling plastic materials.

To sum up, the main reasons of the environmental deterioration are carbon footprint and plastic overconsumption. The solutions are completely adopting renewable energy and reducing plastic waste as soon as possible.