When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technological development is often perceived as a double-edged sword by many. They believe it leads to the erosion of traditional skills and ways of life. This essay disagrees with this viewpoint; traditional skills have the capabilities to continue developing alongside technology. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument.

Supporters of this statement argue that investing in preserving tradition may divert resources from more critical areas such as technological education and healthcare services. This could slow down the overall development of the country. Nevertheless, for rich and diverse cultural countries, traditional skills and ways of life can attract tourists and provide high income for the government over the years, as their value is proportional to their age. This will balance the cost of maintaining these skills and artifacts.

Besides, traditional skills can inspire innovation. Permaculture practices using technology in agriculture, for example, often draw from traditional farming techniques. This proves that tradition and technological development do not exterminate each other along the way of the country’s development but enrich each other.

In short, traditions offer many values that can complement modern advancements; however, it is essential to strike a balance, ensuring that the preservation of traditions does not impede progress.