When new cities are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping malls. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a debate over the importance of building shopping malls in comparison to public parks and sports facilities, with some claiming that it is better to allocate more space for the former and others supporting the latter. I firmly believe that although a new city does need shopping centers, their number should be limited, and more priority should be given to parks and sports facilities.

The main reason why I believe allowing more space for public amenities is better is related to recreation. City dwellers are notorious for being exposed to stress because they experience constant noise and light pollution, along with many other urban-life problems. Therefore, allocating adequate areas for families to have picnics and for youngsters to engage in physical activities should be non-negotiable. Failing to accomplish this might lead to detrimental consequences, such as an increased crime rate, as the lack of facilities like these is likely to encourage reckless behavior, particularly among the youth.

Admittedly, the construction of shopping malls plays a crucial role in the prosperity of a new city. These malls generate large sums of money, a part of which fills up the city’s budget through taxes. These funds can be used to develop healthcare systems, build schools, and provide other essential public services. However, it is also crucial to strike a balance. Tashkent, for example, has achieved a perfect mix of shopping malls, parks, and sports facilities. In my opinion, creating a disproportionate number of shopping facilities would likely ruin a city’s image and reputation, turning it into a concrete jungle.

In conclusion, developing a new city is a complex process that must be approached with caution. While shopping centers can bring great financial benefits, parks and sports facilities enhance the quality of life and should be prioritized. This will not only boost the population’s well-being but also help prevent certain misdemeanors among the young.