When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person. Which way do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There exist different methods by which any customer complains to the service provider about any dissatisfaction regarding service or product. Some people consider writing as an effective method whereas the others believe only one on one conversation can make the service providers address the issues.

Some customer consider submitting mails or letters regarding the issues encountered. According to them, this provides an evidence about the complaint being lodged. Later, if the company ignores the pledges, there would be a proof that the part on the Customer’s side was done and the ball was on the Company’s court. In this way, the authority can be held accountable for taking actions, as per a certain group of people.

Other than the evidence aspect, I perceive complaining in person as the best method to complain. First and foremost, having a conversation about the problem to the concerned authority leads to clear information flow. While talking, the tone suggests the seriousness of the problem that cannot be conveyed by format-bound plain texts. Not only that, during the to and fro chat, the details of the issue can be looked into, escaping the extended process involved in paperwork. Lastly, the interaction done in person lasts longer in mind of any person as compared to the reading from texts. This contributes to the pace at which the issue can be resolved. For an instance, a pipeline in a distribution line burst impacting water supply to 10 houses. The most sensible solution in this situation is to talk to the supplier directly so that the fixing can be done immediately rather than sending a mail mentioning about the damage and replying further about the extent of damage, only if the mail is replied instantly.

All in all, both the methods of sharing information about inconvenience faced by customers either written or in person have their own pros. However, in my opinion, the reliable way to deliver the information is personal interaction that in turn helps the service givers in prioritising the mitigation. Additionally, if complaint through letters and emails are responded promptly, it can become equally reliable measure as the in person chat.