When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Whether judging someone during the first meeting is good or bad is a debatable topic. We live in an age where humans can not be trusted easily and having a quick judgement of someone at first shouldn’t be considered fully inapproptiate. But at the same time , its hard to be sure about individual’s judgement,which maybe biased because of certain factors.

Let us examine both the views before reaching a concreate decision.

There is a quote , ‘ First impression is last impression ‘ , which supports the above idea. First of all it may seem quite practical to judge an individual, who’s company might have adverse effect on you. For instance , anyone having certain bad habits can be avoided in order to stay away from the same. Additionally , it is better to have a judgement of someone’s nature from your past experience and stay safe from any threat to life. As mentioned before , Its hard to trust strangers and better to judge them for there actions rather then trusting blindly.

On the contrary, recent study had found that humans not only judge someone intially by there looks and actions but also consider some biased factors. This is a psychological process and it could be unintentional. For example , a man might be judged wrong for the religion he follows. Secondly , not everyone likes to dress for ocassion; hence someone may not be well dressed at the first meeting, which doesn’t mean they are always dress inappropriate.Last but not least , judgement can be deceiving as it may depend on looks , actions, and aesthetics, which can be fake. To put it simply , judgement can be wrong when meeting for first time.

Considering all the factors , its obvious that judging initially upto a certain extent helps to identify any potential threat from individual but it shouldn’t be considered as final judgement.