While artificial intelligence becomes so advanced, people can use computers to translate foreign languages. That makes learning a foreign language unnecessary. To what extent do you agree with it?

Nowadays, whether artificial intelligence makes learning a foreign language unnecessary has sparked a heated debate and drawn public attention. Some people are firmly convinced that using computers to translate foreign languages have brought us a lot of convenient, while others argue that learning a foreign language is necessary for us as it can create opportunities and immersion for meaningful connections. After consideration of all relevant factors, I believe that learning a foreign language is necessary for us.

There are a number of reasons in favor of my viewpoint. Firstly, when viewed from the cultural perspective, it is evident that computer translation lacks the nuances and cultural understanding that come with learning a language. This is because automated translation systems and lacks of cultural understanding may lead computers struggle to capture these nuances accurately as foreign languages and culture are rich and complex. In conclusion, the aforementioned discussion constructively justifies my stance.

Additionally, another personal factor should also be taken into account in this situation. The interesting point is that learning a foreign language can provide personal and professional benefits, such as improved cognitive skills and job opportunities. This is mainly due to the fact that increased brain plasticity and job opportunities stemming from enhanced cross-cultural communication abilities. To quote an example, the research conducted by the department of the American Society also reflects a similar line and hence, it can be said that the proposition is convincingly justified.

I see there is equally potential evidence to support the arguments I have provided, and hence, my opinion is that the topic of the statement does reflect on the justification that is provided.