While artificial intelligence becomes so advanced, people can use computers to translate foreign languages. That makes learning a foreign language unnecessary. To what extent do you agree with it?

In today’s world, we have been witnessing fast moving and advanced technological movements in various spheres day by day. Pertaining to that recently a new concept has been introduced to our lives: Artificial Intelligence (AI). Each day it is becoming more and more advanced, and also popular. In this sense it can easily be observed that, nowadays AI has being used in wide range of areas and one of them is making translations between different foreign languages. Therefore some people claim that there is no longer a need to learn foreign languages. I strongly disagree on that idea and feel that learning other foreign languages is one of the most important and useful thing an individual could possibly do in his or her life.

Learning a different language provides many upsides. One of the biggest advantages of it is finding career opportunities in other parts of the world. As a result of globalization process, people are now going to different countries not only for travelling, but also to work and live in there. Thus individuals who can speak a foreign language than just his or her own native language will have a greater chance. For instance Germany is known with its success and career opportunities in engineering. I had a friend who studied engineering in university. After his graduation, he easily moved and found a job in Germany because of his advanced skills in German language. Therefore instead of relying on AI’ role on translating languages, learning different languages make contributions on occasions in different aspects of our lives. Although AI’s effectiveness and performance cannot be questioned on the translation, learning foreign languages has some other unique benefits as well.

Getting know people from eccentric cultures is another one of the benefits that can only be given by learning foreign languages. Because every language in the world carries something from its specific culture. While I was learning Spanish language, I was taught many things about Spanish people, culture and history. In addition to all these advantages, we can also talk about its effect on cognitive abilities. Many researches has shown that in the process of studying and learning a language, neuron activation has drastically increased in human brain. Because trying to learn something a person is unfamiliar with gives us the ability to think divergently.

In this essay, roles and benefits of learning foreign languages has been discussed. Because of AI’s high performance and effectiveness on making translations between different languages some people claim that learning foreign languages is waste of time and effort. However this essay has shown that there are numerous unique benefits that can only be provided by learning different languages. As a conclusion, it can easily be said that even AIs from the latest model cannot take place and perform functions of learning a foreign language