While educational technology has made language learning more accessible, it has also widened the gap between students of different socioeconomic backgrounds. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples and evidence where appropriate from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people are of the opinion that educational technology has facilitated learners with more chances to access language. However, others opine that this could increased the inequality between socio-economically diverse backgrounds of learners. This essay will discuss both views and provide my final thoughts about this problem.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people advocate the opinion that technology helps learners more accessible to language. First off, thanks to the emergence of several educational technologies, people nowadays can learn language more effectively via online platforms. These online platforms are frequently free, and they can contain a vast amount of resources or knowledge about different subjects. For example, apps like Duolingo or Elsaspeak make it more possible to those with internet access to start learning a new language through free lessons. Secondly, educational technology can support personalized and flexible learning. AI – powered applications such as ChatGPT or Gemini can adjust users’ levels and allow them to learn at their own pace, which is an ideal tool for students with different learning styles and schedules.

On the other hand, besides those aforementioned benefits, these educational technologies can increase the socio-economic gap between students from different backgrounds. Unequal access to technology and internet is one of the drawbacks. Students who lives in rural areas or low – income families, may not afford internet fee or smart devices since these things are too costly. This, therefore, making it harder to benefit from educational technologies. Moreover, some certain apps and websites require financial investment to get the premium version which have more upgraded functions. These are usually very expensive, and it also means that more wealthier students will have more chances in acknowledging more advanced knowledge from these premium apps.

From my perspective, technology should be seen as a tool that needs some proper support to facilitate all the students, including the underprivileged ones. Schools and local authorities can try to provide several free devices and training programs or courses for poor students in order to help narrow down the gap between learners.

In conclusion, while educational technology can provide learners with a variety of benefits; however, it would act as disadvantage for those who cannot afford smart devices or other fees and access. With the support of government and schools, technology can be seen as an ideal way to downsize the inequality between each learner.