While fossil fuels are still the main source of energy for most countries, others have started to rely on renewable options such as wind and solar power. Is this an advantageous or disadvantageous trend?

It is undeniable that numerous countries have been investing in alternative energy due to its benefits. While this trend can bring them several merits, from my perspective, several demerits that developing countries should consider.

On the one hand, sustainable power can be beneficial for some reasons. Initially, renewable energy can contribute to the environment’s protection. This is because energy resources can generate electricity without burning fossil fuels. As a result, they release less pollution, gas emissions thereby combatting climate change.

In addition, alternative power solutions can improve energy security and economic stability. To explain, eco-friendly energy is limitless and generated from natural replenished resources such as wind, sunlight, and waterflow. Thus, if a nation utilizes alternative energy, the government can be more independent in energy production and control energy prices. It is obvious that when geopolitical conflicts in Iran and potential closures of the Hamouz happened, several Asian countries which rely on gas and oil imports struggled in finding alternative energy supplies and faced the surge of global oil and gas prices. Whereas, China has been heavily investing in hydropower and electronic vehicles for many years, so they can be active in their supply and therefore less vulnerable to the fluctuation of global gas prices.

On the other hand, many limitations and challenges from alternative power development could be considered. Firstly, alternative energy requires a substantial investment in infrastructure, operation systems, and skilled labor. Due to the fact that the initial costs for set-up are extremely expensive for developing countries. Furthermore, although renewable energy is environmentally friendly, many projects may disrupt natural ecosystems. Particularly, large scale solar farms regularly require large areas of land, which could lead to deforestation to install solar panels. Consequently, wild habitats and biodiversity are destroyed. Besides, Three Gorges Dam in China has been criticized for disrupting natural water flows thereby affecting migration patterns of fish and aquatic ecosystems.

In conclusion, while renewable energy solutions are beneficial for the environment and the economy, the authorities of developing countries should carefully consider the drawbacks and challenges before implementation.