While some parents think homework puts too much pressure on children, others believe it is essential for a child's educational development. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It’s argued that some family members suppose that homework causes too much stress for pupils, while others have an opinion that it’s a necessary part of the studying system. I side with those who believe that homework is absolutely indispensable.

On the one hand, there are countries where pupils have a long school day and don’t get any exercise to do at home, for instance, in Finland. The school education system is so planned that children have enough classes and activities and can relax and wind down after coming back. For many families, this system is quite practical, so parents can work or take care of their own matters and don’t worry whether their child has already completed the obligatory homework or not. Thus, both parents and kids can have a peaceful evening and enjoy spending time together, visiting grandparents, or playing with friends after lessons.

On the other hand, compulsory homework develops self-discipline and responsibility in adolescence, which are crucial aspects for the future. While for some children it would be not a problem to manage their schedule, hit the books, and prepare for exams at university, for others it would be challenging to organise themselves and study at home or in a library by themselves. Therefore, study assignments at home evolve such significant aspects as discipline, organisation, and time management, which play a crucial role not only for the university years but also for the whole life.

In conclusion, whereas there are several benefits of the education system without homework, school assignments are essential for pupils due to the aspects they cultivate. So in my view, it’s necessary to foster these character traits in kids and to give them exercises to do at home.