While some people claim that advertising drives economic growth, others suggest it harms society by making individuals feel unhappy with themselves and their belongings. Consider both arguments and present your viewpoint. Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

The ongoing debate regarding the pros and cons of advertisement has set up two opposite statements which one claims that advertisement drives economic growth and the other believes that it affects people’s mentality. These two opinions have a point which is reasonable.

First and foremost, commercials are created with the purpose of attracting customers which would help the distributor to earn profit and increase their income by convincing them to buy the product with the benefits that it would bring being mentioned on the advertisement. Not only the seller but it also enhances the consumption and develops the economy as the better the demand for the product rams up, the better the business will expand and lead to the rise of the country’s GDP ( Gross Domestic Product) and FDI ( Foreign Direct Investment). FDI ( Foreign Direct Investment). For example, coca cola has been launching several commercials since the brink of its company and has become one of the biggest companies in the world which has also marked its significant place in the economy of various countries around the world with the amount of taxes it pays and how coca cola has taken part in the rise of the GDP and FDI .

In addition, it can also bear on people’s mentality in both positive and negative ways. Some commercials are set up with entertaining content, even though it is a gimmick and meaningless. However, they still drive attention from their customers by entertaining them and giving them a wonderful time during the advertisement. On the other hand, some others can make the watchers or listeners feel offended or self-conscious. For example, beauty commercials usually create a specific definition for beauty such as light skin, high nose,… this can be seen as humiliating or even criticizing and make them buy the product.

From the author’s perspective, commercials generally have a significant effect on the economy and the whole society in many aspects, especially in marketing. It is also apparent that advertisements have a responsibility on how people feel self-conscious about their content and how they expect commercials to improve rather than harass them. Additionally, ads should be set up based on trends, demands and the needs of the community in which they can benefit not only themselves but also the nation.

In conclusion, advertisements have their ups and downs and it depends on how they make use of it and how we understand it. Both statements are accurate and it is undeniable that despite bringing a lot of economic advance and development, businesses should also pay attention to how their ideas affect people.