Wild animals have no use in the 21st century and trying to preserve animals now is just a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the 21st century, it is believed that efforts to preserve wild animals is considered a money-wasting practice as they have no use. From my general perspective, I partly disagree with this statement due to some chief rationales that will be elucidated in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some major driving forces why I could argue that protecting wild animals is not a waste of money. Due to humans’ agricultural activities and industrialization nowadays, combined with global warming, many endangered species are losing their habitats and getting closer to the brink of extinction. In fact, these animals are still playing a vital role in a nation’s biodiversity and economy. For instance, although China is required to spend lots of money protecting their pandas, it pays off when they are serving as one of the main tourist attractions for people around the world, and the revenue gained from this activity contributes directly to China’s economy. As a result, by allocating resources to preserve wild animals, it not only saves them from being extinct but also acts as a return on investment.

On the other hand, its application might be a challenge to some developing countries due to their limited national budget. It is undeniable that preserving several wild animals will burden governments’ resources as it demands an enormous amount of money ranging from employing laborers and constructing their habitats. However, other crucial sectors such as education and healthcare are also the main focus of the government as it contributes remarkably towards economic development. As a consequence, it might be a waste of money when a country puts too much effort into conserving wild animals while neglecting other primary industries.

In conclusion, despite many humans’ contrasting viewpoints on this topic, I would contend that it is not a money-wasting practice. However, it is essential for a nation to allocate resources to conserve the most severely endangered spe