Wild animals have no use in the 21st century and trying to preserve animals now is just a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that wild animals preservation is wasting money because it brings no advantages to humans. While I understand why protecting wild animals is claimed a waste of money, I am of the opinion that preserving wild animals is extremely necessary.

On the one hand, it is reasonable that other fields should be prioritized over animals protection. To begin with, wild animals preservation usually costs a lot of money. If governments spend too much money protecting wildlife, hence, other fields may be forgotten, such as education and healthcare. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, a large number of people was suffering from many serious issues, such as hunger and poverty. Government’s budget, therefore, should be used prioritizely to tackle these urgent problems. By doing so, can governments ensure that people will have a better and healthier living quality. Moreover, extinction is a part of evolution, so there is no need to spend money protecting wild animals. Because people can not prevent the extinction, money should be spent improving other fields.

On the other hand, I believe that wild animals are great of significant in humans’s survival, so protecting them is essential. Firstly, preserving wild animals is beneficial for medical research. On the ground that animals share some biological similarities with humans, it is necessary to do medical tests on new drugs. For instance, animals testing has been produced many life-saving cures and treatment, such as vaccines for the Covid-19. Secondly, wild animals preservation will help people maintain the ecological system. Furthermore, it may also protect biodiversity, which may beneficial for tourism. Because of numerous types of animals, it may attract more tourists, which has a great contribution to the economy’s growth.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that many problems should be prioritized over wild animals preservation regarding other urgent phenomena, I believe that it is extremely necessary for preserving animals in terms of making great contribution to humans’s survival and tourism.