With an increasing number of people eating fast food, which if eating too regularly can cause health issues, some people think that the only solution is to ban it completely. To what extent do you agree?

Fast food is an affordable option for a meal for a lot of people, however it has negative effects on health. Although I agree that fast food is unhealthy, I think that it should not be banned.

On the one hand, it could be argued fast food causes health issues. Firstly, instant foods are heavily processed, making them having far less nutritional value than the original product. Thus, consuming only fast foods for a whole day would not complete the body’s daily nutritional needs. Moreover, fast foods are high in calories because they are loaded with preservatives, high levels of sodium and unhealthy fats which can negatively impact the body by affecting the circulatory system.

On the other hand, fast food has a role in feeding students, since they are cheap and could be acquired instantly. As an illustration, most students may not have the time to buy and cook food, so they end up buying food from restaurants, which can be expensive. Fast food is a viable option for college students who are meaning to save money and time. Furthermore, fast foods can fit into a well-balanced diet when eaten occasionally. As an example, eighty percent of the time, people should eat healthier meals consisting of whole and unprocessed foods that are high in protein, fibre and healthy fats, while indulging in their favourite instant foods twenty percent of the time. This creates a balance that can satisfy people’s cravings for fast food and helps in preventing people from overeating when their desire for these foods are not being met.

To conclude, I personally believe that fast foods should not be banned owing to the fact that it has played a role in nourishing college students and allowing people to have a well-balanced diet.