With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, more and more people have opted for communicating through social media, causing in-human socialization to become absolute. While the prevalence of digital socialization may lead to vanishing face-to-face communication, I believe individuals never stop valuing real-life interaction.

On the one hand, I concede that the popularity of internet communication and texting play a significant role in turning in-person communication into an old-fashioned one. In a rapidly revolutionized world, the internet facilitates many aspects of life, including communication. With the discovery of mobile phones and the internet in the 19th century, the majority of humans started relying heavily on contacting anyone online. This, however, has had its implications for the way people interact with each other. As they lean on communicating online or by sending a message, offering unparalleled convenience, meeting up with their friends and families in person is likely to be the least viable option, which emerges as time-consuming. As a consequence, face-to-face communication will probably remain an old means of communication.

On the other hand, digital conversations cannot impact real-life interactions. This form of socialization promotes several opportunities that online connections can never achieve. While communicating in person, people are able to make use of facial expressions, eye contact, and body language, all of which serve as building blocks in fostering a strong relationship, which is the case in business. In addition, face-to-face communication promotes cognitive development. When people talk to each other personally, whether in business or private settings, they totally delve into the conversation, which in turn results in them enhancing their interpersonal and problem-solving skills. For these reasons, in-person communication will maintain its relevance among the public.

In conclusion, even though a growing dominance of chatting through messages or virtual platforms affects conventional ways of communicating, such as real-life personal, to a certain extent, they never contribute to making face-to-face communication a thing of the past. I believe we will continue to keep in contact with others in person, notwithstanding the benefits of online communication.