With the advent of social media, more and more people are getting their news online instead of from print media. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, the development of social media has changed the way people get and share news in society instead of the traditional approach. From my point of view, these changes will bring more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, some people argue that one big problem with news online is the reliability of information sources. It is undeniable that a multitude of individuals take advantage of the widespread sharing of news on social platforms to publish fake information and fabricated news, leading to misinformation about certain societal issues. A typical example is that the emergence of false information about the number of deaths in the COVID-19 pandemic caused confusion and worry among Vietnamese citizens, which was not confirmed by the Ministry of Health. Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I firmly believe that reading news on the Internet will bring more benefits. Firstly, the most obvious advantage of accessing news on the Internet is the availability of numerous different topics. From that, users may have a diverse perspective on any issue such as politics, sports, entertainment, health, and more, providing them a deeper understanding of social problems. Additionally, online news allows individuals to stay constantly updated on current affairs both locally and internationally, therefore, users can easily learn about different societal changes or trends in order to keep up with society’s development.

In conclusion, receiving information through social platforms instead of printed form will provide users with more advantages, including the diversity of fields and the timeliness of information updates.