With the development of technology and science, some people believe that there is no great value of artists such as musicians and painters. What are the things artists can do but the scientist cannot? Why art should be encouraged more?

In this day and age, technological innovations and scientific progress have propelled the world into a digital economy where success is driven by creativity. In fact, traditional artists such as musicians and painters are seemingly being replaced by YouTubers and Photoshop experts whose content directly contributes to the expanding online ecosystem. Furthermore, technological advancements have given birth to artificial intelligence (AI), and platforms that are employing AI can deliver art content that seemingly surpasses traditional results and with less time. AI can draw faster, digitally paint faster, and creatively write faster than many conventional cartoonists, painters, writers, and other artisans. Therefore, it seems that developments in technology and science have displaced traditional artists. However, in my opinion, and as alluded to in the above, traditional arts have led to better technology and science, and not the reverse. Art is first. Technological progress comes after. That is, many aspects of technological progress are the result of following the lead of original human artistic expressions.

First, it is important to acknowledge a fundamental axiom: Creation can never replace nor override its creator. AI is the perfect example. AI is a creation, the result of advancements in microchip processing technology as well as computer programming sophistication. Yet, recent applications have demonstrated that AI is subjected to the whims of its creator. For instance, recent Google searches for the words ‘George Washington’ brought up images of a black George Washington, which is a totally false narrative, because George Washington was not black at all. He was a white person. However, because Google AI was created with a WOKE agenda, Google AI can only do what its creator tells it to do, which is to produce a WOKE George Washington, rather than a realistic George Washington. Thus, AI can only follow instructions. Of course, part of the instructions is for it to learn from its history and experiences. This is known as machine learning. Nevertheless, AI cannot dream. AI cannot have secrets. AI can only do what its creator tells it to do. Secrets and dreams are some of the things that make humans superior, and that is why humans, the creator of technology and science, will never be replaced by the products of technological or scientific progress. While AI can articulate the narrative that has been loaded into its memory, it is impossible for AI to rewrite the original script as hard-coded by its author. In short, creation cannot and will never supersede its creator.

Moreover, original art cannot be programmed into codes, nor is it a scientific or mathematical formula. Art is constructed from the imagination of its creator. For instance, who originally created the microchip? It was created by two Americans in 1959, namely Jack Kilby and Robert Noyce. How did Kilby and Noyce come up with this idea called the microchip? This idea did not come from any logical ‘what if’ scenario. Rather, the invention of the microchip was originally conceived by the imaginations of these two Americans. Their imaginations led to trial and errors in tweaking certain semiconductors to turn them on and off, which is the core principle of a microchip, turning micro transistors on or off to get the ‘0 or 1’ logic. In any case, the inception of this invention did not come from history nor any logical, analytical methods. The idea of a microchip was a result of dreams and imaginations of two human beings. It is inconceivable and, indeed, impossible for any machine, including supercomputers that drive AI, to engage in imagination, dreams, or having an ability to harbor secrets, which are features that make humans special.

In summary, art is not logic and can never be programmed into codes, for art is the construct of ideas that come from imagination and dreams. These things come before science and technology and, in fact, are often a prerequisite of progress in these and other fields. The future of this world is led by art, not by science and technology.