With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary times, due to rapid population growth, cities are becoming increasingly crowded. Thus, housing and public services need to build more housing units and apartments with fewer or no green spaces and outdoor facilities in order to accommodate more residents. Although some people argue that this tendency can bring some benefits, I primarily believe that its negative impacts, particularly on mental and physical well-being, are far more significant.

First of all, one particularly significant aspect of this trend is that a lack of outdoor space prompts a sedentary lifestyle. When people do not have enough space for outdoor activities, such as running, exercising, or at least walking, they are less likely to participate in such activities, especially in places that are far from their homes. If people understand that they have the opportunity to engage in these activities, they tend to improve their physical health. By contrast, individuals who have limited access to basic physical training may be more inclined to follow sedentary lifestyle. For example, children living in homes without access to public playgrounds may be more interested in playing computer games or watching television. As a consequence, limited outdoor space can lead to poor physical health and should be addressed.

Another negative consequence of inadequate green zones is related to mental illness. Constant exposure to concrete buildings can have a detrimental impact on people’s mental health. This is mainly because people feel trapped in their apartments with a lack of fresh air and nature, which in turn may increase their stress levels, encourage anxiety, and reduce social interaction, for example with neighbors. Consequently, due to a lack of green spaces, individuals become more vulnerable to mental diseases. Conversely, if people are surrounded by plants and trees, they can calm down and relax.

In conclusion, despite the fact that limited outdoor and green spaces can offer some advantages, they pale in comparison with their negative effects on people’s lives, as they deteriorate both physical and mental well-being.