With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

As urban areas witness the increasing number of residents, accomodations with limited spaces for gardens now become so prevalent in those areas. Personally, I think this would affect people’s both mentality and physical health due to lack of areas for relaxation and air filter.

One of the major factors of not having adequate outdoor spaces is the detrimental effect on individual’s mental conditions. Given sufficient spaces for garden, people would spend more time relaxing with a variety of outdoor activities, namely gardening and exercising, which helps stressed people relieve after long arduous day at work. Without proper spaces for outdoor activities, mentality would be detrimentally affected due to suffering from pressure at work or study, paired with limited motor activities.

In addition, human physical health, especially respiratory systems would be the first detriment if the outdoor space is elusive. It is undoubted that plants or trees would play an important role in filtering dirt in the atmosphere. With dense population size, urban areas become more polluted, which highlights the great importance of having adequate space for gardens in those areas. If garden spaces are becoming elusive, people tend to develop respiratory diseases due to increasing of polluted air without being naturally filtered by adquate trees. As a result, urban citizens would suffer lots of respiratory diseases if the spaces for gardens are limited.

In conclusion, I acknowledge this development as negative due to some detrimental effects to mental and physical health. Having the decreasing size for garden would somehow exacerbate individual’s breathing systems due to unfiltered air and their mentality because of limited spaces for relaxation outdoors.