With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rising demand for non-renewable resources, many argue that undiscovered locations should be permitted to search for oil and gas. I completely disagree with this statement because this could disturb local habitats and unearth medieval viruses.

Allowing to explore such undiscovered places would disturb local flora and fauna. Using modern methods, like drilling or blasting, to explore and acquire resources in these unknown territories would damage the local natural habitat, bringing harm to the local animal population and environment. For example, in Antarctica, there are believed to be plenty of natural gas reserves underneath the thick freezing grounds. But climate activists fear that exploiting such unknown places in search of gas would harm the local polar bear population and drive them to extinction.

On the other hand, there are fears of coming across preserved viruses. With most of these natural habitats untouched by mankind, there are theories of old viruses being dormant in these places. Therefore, exploring such areas without any knowledge could accidentally release these viruses and cause a pandemic that would create a global health crisis. For instance, it is believed that there are dormant viruses underneath the thick icy grounds of the north-pole. Scientists have warned that, without any knowledge of the area and safety measures these dormant viruses could become active, and be released to the environment, infecting everyone.

In conclusion, this essay believes that undiscovered locations should not be accessed without any previous knowledge of the area because this could bring harm to the local habitats and release unknown viruses.