With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

In recent years, there has been an increasing demand for energy sources such as oil and gas. Although exploring untouched areas may improve energy security and economic growth, I believe the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, the first significant merit of looking for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places can be attributed to the fact that the governments want to satisfy the demand for sources of energy. In reality, some regions don’t have enough energy to maintain life. For example, gas and oil are very important for people’s lives, especially their daily life routine like cooking. Therefore, if the governments conduct further research for energy resources in other regions, they will create jobs for people who are unemployed, reducing employment.

By contrast, there are several drawbacks of this problem. First of all, the main drawback of finding new sources of energy in untouched areas is it causes irreversible damage to ecosystems and biodiversity. Resource extraction affects a wide range of animals, a few animals become extinct in this way. Furthermore, areas that have lots of sources of energy, possibly forests and jungles. For instance, if people extract resources, they will cut down many trees to proceed with their plan. Another downside of searching resources possibly lies in increased greenhouse gas emissions contributing to climate change. More fossil fuels are burned in transportation, manufacturing, and electricity. Larger amounts of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases are released into the atmosphere. These gases can heat up more and more day by day. Certainly, people will face increasing global warming in the further future. As a result, the consequences of this problem have long-lasting effects not only on the economy but also on people’s lives.

All in all, although finding sources of energy such as gas and oil in remote areas brings energy and economic benefits, there are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration, such as affecting the environment and global warming. Therefore, the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages.