With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

The idea of using non-renewable sources such as oil and gas is gaining more popularity in various countries. While this has admittedly certain benefits, I would contend that these are overshadowed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, demanding for energy sources can be advantageous to a certain extent.

Exploiting untouched places could provide amount of oil and gas, solving the existing problem of lacking energy sources. since almost all of the remote places are intensively immense, the potential of this field is massive. government as well as companies will make use of this opportunities to construct more factories, expanding the influence and enriching their countries. For instance, Saudi Arabia is the oil richest country in the world, due to its gigantic natural advantages, the government has earned a lot of money by selling raw oil and gas to developed countries, whose technology are cutting edge so that they could process these materials.

However, since oil and gas could not be renewable, after being exploited for long period of time, lands will become exhausted, making us to continuously seeking for new sources; therefore, it is just temporary solution to cope with alarmed problems. Moreover, if we still use up all of the recent sources, the next generation will have to face with more and more serious problems than we do at the moment. so, instead of temporary solution, government should look for a permanent one, such as developing the alternatives – renewable energy sources (solar, wind/tidal turbines, etc). With these modern energy, the production of energy could meet the demand of huge population, solving one of the hottest issues nowadays. Besides, as the majority of remote places are forests or nature reserves, destruction leads to serious consequences because trees are primary sources, providing oxygen for respiration and avoiding environmental issues (greenhouse effect) spreading or exacerbating.

From all of the above, I think that exploiting remote areas is not the only solution to the problems of lacking energy sources. there are other considerations as well, such as developing alternative and renewable sources, of which unlike the first mentioned solution, their advantages outweigh the disadvantages. I believe that in the future, these renewable energy sources could replace the traditional ones, meeting the demand of the society.